Cast in Silence Chapter & a question

I’m at best a haphazard and slightly under-organized person.  I didn’t realize just how close July the 1st was until, well, today.  June has disappeared in a trail of words, chapters, and the end of school.  I’ve done a fair amount of writing, and I’m three quarters of the way through Cast in Chaos (which I always now type instead of Silence).  I’ve also finished revisions on what exists of House Name, having added some seven thousand words, and I’m now at the point where I’m once again writing new words in that book’s closing arc.

Someone came into the store a couple of months ago and suggested that one of my future Cast novels should be titled Cast in Concrete, which was very funny–and if I can think of a reasonable mafia for Elantra, I swear I’m going to do it.

But that’s not why you’re here.  Today, because it’s Canada Day, I’ve posted the first chapter of the upcoming Cast in Silence.  You can find it under the appropriate book in the Chronicles of Elantra page in the sidebar; it’s in .pdf and .html.

—–

Okay, and now, the question.  Well, first the preamble:

It’s been suggested that I’m not very active on-line, and this is partly true.  I spend time reading on-line, but I don’t post often, and if I do, it’s frequently with a sense of driving outrage.  This implies that I’m normally a fairly silent person, unless pushed, which is sadly not entirely representative of the truth, especially not if you ask my brother.  (Hands up, any brothers who feel that their sisters actually do not talk all of the time).

I’m a fairly housebound person.  But I’m not really a gardener (because I have black thumbs), and knitting is always a proof-in-concept of extra-dimensionality.  I am not a very visual person, and I can draw stick figures on a good day.  I can’t sing, and if I listen to music while trying to write…well, I listen to music.  I don’t travel very much.

I work in a bookstore, which I managed until my oldest son was born.  I like the part-time work there, because I get to handle new books, and I get to see real people.  I understand parts of the writing process, I understand parts of the publishing process, and the business therein.

I do read, because I can’t actually remember a time in my life when I didn’t.  Reading is very much part of what I do, and how I think or feel.  I see movies, but mostly, I see movies that I can take the kids to see.  The two exceptions to that in recent memory that stand out:  The Lives of Others and Il y a Longtemps que Je t’aime.  Both of which were, in their own stark way, so profoundly beautiful I still try to make people watch them.  But I don’t watch very much television at all, and if I do, I play catch-up on series when they’re released as DVDs.

I do have children, and my oldest is now sixteen years of age, and he has given me permission to talk about some of his earlier life and his earlier experiences; I’ve never felt entirely comfortable talking about them in public before because only part of them are my life.  My oldest was diagnosed with Asperger’s, part of ASD, when he first hit school, and some of that experience occupied a great deal of my thought and time.

I also read some manga, and play some computer games.  I spent a number of years playing World of Warcraft, and I have some things to say about the nature of on-line MMO’s in a variety of different ways (gender roles immediately come to mind, and, ummm, I may have been guilty of long, looooong rants about the difference between “male” clothing and “female” clothing in game).

But I’m not sure that any of these things are profoundly interesting to people; they are all, of course, interesting to me.

I understand that it’s important to have samples of actual writing here, because that’s more or less what I do with my day.

Writing is not a terribly entertaining spectator sport, unless it’s been a particularly bad writing day, in which case it’s at least audibly interesting.  At a safe distance.  (My son says no distance is safe at that time <wry g>).

So… what I’m wondering at this point is:  What do you want to see, when you drop by here?  Is there enough here, with the books and the not-perfect-bibliography?  Would posts about the disconnects experienced in raising an ASD child or posts about funny/infuriating things in an MMO, or more frequent ‘read this book’ posts be reasonable?

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Emery
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 18:24:33

    I have not really gone to this site very much, sidetracked by work and grandbaby and really just by life. I feel actually kind of intrusive offering an opinion about anything other than the Cast books, which I love. This is not our site, but yours. you are not required *some beliefs to the contrary* to even Be Here. anything you wish to cover I really feel is okay with me. Connections to others can be made in odd ways. SOrry, not explaining myself well but the site looks great and anything you feel like talking about or speaking of is fine.

    Reply

  2. Michael
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 20:55:32

    I constantly stop by to find news about your books, and in the absence of that, I hope to see something that will make me laugh and be glad that I’m not the one being cut by your tongue.

    I can’t say I want something specific (other than book news and rants), just more.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Sagara
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 21:34:31

    @Cindy: Please, don’t feel intrusive, especially not when you’re taking the time to answer a question I’ve publicly asked :).

    @Michael: >..>

    Reply

  4. claritysheen
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 00:00:41

    I totally stop by to see what you have been up to. I am interested in anything you feel strong enough about to share. I really enjoy your cast series and would take any book recommendations from you because I respect your opinions. Having regular updates about the books you are writing is a plus. I realize all authors are different. I am just glad that you are still writing so I know that I will be able to read some really great books once you are done. Thanks for caring what your fans think.

    Reply

  5. Sabrena
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 01:56:58

    I agree with what has been written. I want to hear whatever you want to share, and specifically anything about the books in the works. Haven’t read the Cast series but am hooked on the workd you created for Jewel and the countless others who get a space in the world. Praises to you!!!!

    In a personal note. If you are comfortable sharing about what it is like to raise a ASD kid in this day and age I would be interested. I am in the same boat as it were, but on the starting out end. I have 2 sons with disabilites, one blind and the other … well they haven’t ruled ASD out yet. It is … encouraging to hear that there are other moms out there, like me, with this huge burden, but somehow manage to do great things. I’m rambling. sorry.

    I also would love book recomendations, always looking for something new to read.

    Reply

  6. Michael
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 03:22:34

    …you’re so *cruel*!!!

    I’m with Kaylin: patience isn’t exactly my middle name either.

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 04:15:44

    Haha I’ll take whatever I can get :) I’ve been in “Cast in” deprivation I’ll eat up anything you throw at me. Although if you do decide to discuss MMO’s … I’ve been known to rant about gender roles as well…and in all seriousness any experiences/odd bits of news/etc. you feel you’d like to share would be very welcome.

    It’s always interesting to see the “not-feverishly-writing-at-the-moment” side of authors.

    Reply

  8. Persia
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 07:04:59

    I would enjoy reading anything that you would like to share. I’m also not a very visual person so I love the character development and interaction in your stories. I enjoy your world building but the characters are awesome. I have read all of the Cast books, currently reading the second book of the Sundered series, and your other books are on my TBR pile. So I would be interested in hearing more stuff on the characters. Or shows (including anime) you like, books you’re reading — pretty much any information you are willing to share.

    Reply

  9. Nikki
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 12:38:50

    I think essentially whatever you want to post because it is your site. It is helpful to me as a reader to be able to find out information about what book you are working on and what will be coming out when. If you include snippets, well, even better for me.

    I think the only limitation to your posting should be your level of comfort. I would be interested in hearing about your experiences in multiple arenas. While I know about Asperger’s in the technical sense, it is different in terms of the experience and emotions and I would be interested in learning about that as well. I have never played WOW but had friends who did and needed a twelve step program to get away. :) I do however agree with you about the costumes, though I admit some of my male friends preferred to play female characters, reasons were never explained.

    Truthfully, I am just happy you are still writing. And even though the House War will last for another 12 books (hehe) as long as I keep getting my fix I am fine. I am also looking forward to the next few Cast books. I remember you were very doubtful about them way back before the first book was published. But look at this, several books down the line, who knew!

    Reply

  10. Bella
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 20:49:18

    I don’t care (although I am very interested in what drives your imagination)if you post once a blue moon or a purple month as long as the books keep coming, I’m happy…….

    For a title how about Cast in Irons or Cast in Director or Cast in Spells….(just teasing)….am having withdrawal from Elantra…..

    Reply

  11. Michelle Sagara
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 23:46:57

    @claritysheen I think I will always be writing. And reading. The book opinions are a touch harder because I’ve worked in a bookstore for so many years, and the best part ever is trying to match a book with its reader. There are some books I adored beyond all reason, but I know they won’t work for some readers; there are some books I didn’t care for, but I’m certain will work for some readers. So…sometimes I’m hesitant, even though I do love books!

    @ Sabrena: No, you’re not rambling :). I have often wanted to say a few things about my experiences with my son, but…I wanted to wait until he was old enough to ask him if it was okay to write about them, because I thought people might find them interesting or actually helpful in some way. And he is old enough now, and he doesn’t mind, so I probably will write a bit about that in future. I’m thinking of doing that in the LJ, so that people who only want book news find that here, but I’m not sure.

    @Michael: See? This is why I never read on-line excerpts — it makes me even less patient…

    @Sarah: Sadly, the not-writing side of authors is pretty much like the not-working side of people: some of it’s interesting, but some of it is probably…not. But the MMO stuff is interesting to me, in part because it’s the only one I’ve ever played.

    @Bella: Cast in Gold/Silver/Bronze have come up as titles as well, which shifts the meaning of Cast, but at least leaves the titles sort of connected. It’s… tricky. I should have just used different titles *wry g*

    Reply

  12. Brittany
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 17:16:43

    I think that even if you think it’s not that interesting but you want to share it, then you should. I follow a couple other author’s blogs and someone somewhere almost always relates to anything posted on their blogs, and sometimes they’re just writing about biking around town that day. And readers love to give encouragement to their favorite authors in any problems they’re having, from difficulty writing, to trying to move, to misbehaving pets.

    As mentioned before, I would also like to see any updates on how your books are going. I’ve only read your Cast series so far, but I loved all the books and I’m currently rereading them since I last read them a while ago. Any books you’ve read recently or any books you really like that you think we may like would also be really cool.

    I’ve also noticed that some authors post snippets of their books at different times, so if you’re comfortable doing that and your publishers don’t mind, that’s something you could consider doing too. I think you should post about your son if you’re okay with it, especially since other readers are experiencing the same things you’ve gone through. And I totally think you should post about WOW! I used to play WOW but actually got BORED and quit.

    Reply

  13. MIchelle Miranda Shannon
    Jul 03, 2009 @ 19:21:22

    Hi Michelle,

    I don’t often stop by here. But when I do, it’s to just do a little catch up with what may be coming in the future with respect to your books. I’m a fan of your fiction. I’m a lover of the characters for whom you’ve gifted life. In the end what that does emotionally is drive me to want to know more about where your expression comes from– to know *you* better. On the other hand, I know that the more I know about the daily grind of creating, and the more I know about an author the less magical the books might become. Maybe that’s just me. Perhaps it’s an overly bloated way of describing how it feels to be the reader. I think it’s possibly as hard to answer honestly what someone would want to see here as it is to determine what you yourself might wish to share. I wonder if that makes sense. Perhaps we, as fans, should simply be happy to have what we are given, that you are thinking about the stories we enjoy, and that you are sharing a tidbit of your path with us here.

    That said, if was to allow myself to be utterly selfish for just a moment, my request, would be that you might share with us the stories about you. Tell us the stories that bring you tears, the ones that make you laugh, the ones that make you angry or anything else. :)

    Much love,

    Michelle

    Reply

  14. Jane
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 08:37:10

    I check this site to see any updates on your current writing and hopefully find out what various states of publishing your writing is at. Anything more that you want to share is a bonus. I personally enjoy keeping some distance between myself and an author and so I don’t read posts by an author that doesn’t have to do with books or writing. Clock work updates are a plus because I know when to check. Jacqueline Carey posts at the beginning of every month and I like dropping by and seeing what’s up each month.

    Reply

  15. LaraB
    Jul 04, 2009 @ 14:40:44

    As someone who loves reading about the world you’ve created in the Hunter, Sword and House books, I am quite naturally always happy to get updates and tidbits about the current progress. Since a great deal of my book collection consists of “weighty tomes” – at least in terms of page numbers – I don’t mind a bit that your “one book” tends to turn into two. I loved that you put the Kalandras short story up. If that sort of activity is ok with your publishers I think it’s wonderful!

    As someone who still currently plays WoW, I can say that there are dozens, if not hundreds, of blogs about that game and many other MMO’s besides. I wouldn’t expect (or want) you to turn this into an MMO blog, but if you felt like the occasional rant or discussion, I’m sure it would be interesting to read. I come to your site to learn about you and your books, so if the phenomenon of MMO’s is interesting to you, or sparks your creativity then by all means share!

    A friend of mine who is a budding young author posts a great deal about her life and her family, but she and they are comfortable about it, and I suspect that those of us who frequent her site are mostly personal friends still. I will say that seeing her write on a topic that she is passionate about just further deepens my admiration of her as a writer (I’m not sure it’s possible for my admiration of her as a friend to get deeper without creating that proverbial hole to China). I love that your son is willing to let you share about your experiences, and I look forward to reading about them.

    Everyone is different, so write what you feel like writing, and when you feel like writing. I rather like your idea of keeping this site more focused on the books and using the LJ blog for the not-so-book-related topics.

    Reply

  16. wolfbaby
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 00:55:08

    Well having my own blog I have gone through the same problems as you trying to figure out what exactly to post. What I have found is what everyone here has already written. We just want you to post what you feel comfortable posting. I love hearing other’s opinions of books as I am a very avid reader and it is a good way to find new stories to read.

    On my blog I have also posted pics of stuff i see that make me laugh or my kids or just something i see all day everyday and make a comment about it. Sometimes you can find a story in a very funny place!! I used to, when i had more time, have writting contest to or get a group of people to gether to co-write a story post which was a blast and i had more partispants then i thought. (we used other bloggers as characters, with there permission)

    I guess my point is whatevery you want to do people would love to see. Just enjoy yourself!!!

    Reply

  17. wolfbaby
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 00:55:50

    sorry bout the typos

    Reply

  18. J.D.
    Jul 05, 2009 @ 01:54:31

    To be totally honest, I love your work and I want to hear about when your works will be published, when your writing them, etc…Other than that, I would like to see what kinds of books that you read, because I love books and I like to try new authors (especially when I am waiting for other books to be released by my favorite authors). Other than that, I can’t say that I would read through “life blogs”, but I do know that some people might be helped by what you might have to say. HOWEVER, I would not want you to focus so much on a blog that you do not write the books that I love. So, if you have free time (and as a mother and writer, I can’t see how you have much free time), go for the blog, but if it would take away from your writing time–I would say to you, “please don’t”. Thanks for listening and good luck on your writing. Your Kaylin Neya books are wonderful and exciting! Keep it up!! Blessings, J.D.

    Reply

  19. Amber
    Jul 07, 2009 @ 07:36:24

    Hi,
    I have to say i love your cast in series however I am dying to know how severn and nightshade will fare in kaylin’s world. i love to hate Nightshade in fact he kinda creeps me out sometimes and as I am a die hard romantic I kinda want severn to step up and like shove him aside. But as Michelle seems to love a twist i don’t see this happening. i can’t wait to read cast in silence It seems like the last two books have eluded to it more extensively. Thanks so much for the great read. So often I cannot find books that hold my attention for long, but so far these have and I am going to go by more of Michelle’s books. im hooked.
    Amber

    Reply

  20. Jennifer Morgan
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 18:54:56

    I recently discovered your series, and proceeded to read all four books in a couple of months (a feat considering I have two small kids–they’re wondering why I can’t cook macaroni without a book in my hand these days). Your writing is very immersive and addictive. I’m really excited about the new volume. I’ve also enjoyed reading about your disorganization and chaotic family schedule–it makes me feel normal! And the tidbits on writing and publishing are fascinating too. Thanks!

    Reply

  21. Alyx
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 03:55:17

    I am absolutely in love with the Cast series and come by every once in a while to see when I will be able to devour the next one, and its coming out sooner than I expected, yay. Personally, I’m glad that character development and building an amazing universe has taken precedence over all out romance, because it makes Kaylin so much more interesting (it would be out of character too, she’s got issues). I love her and I love getting to know her more and more through each of the books. As each book has focused on one race or another I am excited to eventually learn about the Aerians and the dragons. Thank you for writing this great series, I look forward to reading the rest as they come out.

    Reply

  22. Michelle Sagara
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 04:51:19

    That said, if was to allow myself to be utterly selfish for just a moment, my request, would be that you might share with us the stories about you. Tell us the stories that bring you tears, the ones that make you laugh, the ones that make you angry or anything else. :)

    I will keep this in mind, because it’s very liberating. Very often, because life on-line is on-line, I try to take deep breaths before I post when I’m angry (my husband is my external editor in cases like this because, apparently, I have machine-gun typing when I’m annoyed).

    sorry about the typos

    I had to laugh a little at this because I am always cursing my typos when I reread my first drafts. And I watch the screen when I’m typing — or I think I do — but…I generally see what I meant to type, the first time. So no apologies for typos are necessary at all :).

    Personally, I’m glad that character development and building an amazing universe has taken precedence over all out romance, because it makes Kaylin so much more interesting (it would be out of character too, she’s got issues).

    Kaylin does have issues. Some of those, she’s ignored; some, she’s driven by, and not always in a constructive way. I think to some extent we’ve all experienced that (although hopefully not in as extreme a way!). I would like her to be happy, in the end–but in some ways, focusing on romance at this stage in where she is would feel very forced. She doesn’t want to be alone. She doesn’t want to be isolated–the Hawks, for her, are family, which is part of why she’s so protective of what it means to be one.

    But…she is growing or changing; she backslides sometimes, but five books in, she’s more likely to catch herself.

    And thank you everyone, for the kind words, and for stopping to say them–I admit it makes the long writing days (today, for instance) seem so much more worthwhile :)

    Reply

  23. Mac
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 17:03:09

    This sort of post is perfect; little rambles about your life and when reasonable, comments regarding the progress of your work.

    I enjoy hearing that “Today was a bad day for writing!” followed by just what went wrong or the random venting is you don’t happen to know. The inverse is also true. I love hearing “Today was a great day! I read, I wrote a zillion pages and I have a dinner date with my hubby!”

    Reply

  24. Mac
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 17:56:58

    While I’m here, I’ll add that I have inhaled the “Cast” series, discovering the danger and joy that is my brand new Kindle 2. I’m able to finish one book at o’dark thirty, and have the next one available to read and o’dark thirty-one. Thank you, for putting the books out in K2 format.

    I’m looking forward to ‘Silence’ and then branching out to your other works. To think I worried that I’d not discover a new author… Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that detail. The cast series is the first of your work that I’ve consumed… ~cough~ read. I’m having a wonderful time.

    Thank you for making the first week of Kindle ownership such a joy.

    Reply

  25. Sam
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 05:00:42

    I think a blog is a blog is a blog and you should write about whatever takes your fancy. Chances are it will take ours too, to greater or lesser extents, but that’s the great thing about an engaging writer/ person. Something that may not interest you at first does so when there is a personl connection. I read all kinds of blogs and they are vastly different but all very interesting and I would love to know what you’re reading – ALWAYS interested in new material! And I would suggest Cast Away or Cast-in-Couch but you’re not Piers Anthony and I’m far too old to laugh my head off at silly puns ;)

    Reply

  26. Michael
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 04:33:17

    Amazon sent me the most wonderful email today. Apparently my copy has shipped and is due to me by the 22nd. If only I could make it to Pittsburgh, I could have it signed right away. :(

    I really wish I could be there, as last year’s Confluence was a high point for me.

    P.S. Valley Games is re-releasing Republic of Rome. (For those who might be interested.)

    Reply

  27. Shirley
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 04:15:18

    You have created the most fascinatingly complex world in Elantra. Am interested, therefore, in what has intrigued, frustrated amazed – or simply made you stop and note it. I think your insight into your son’s ASD has probably lent much more nuance to your Elantran characters. Am following you on Twitter which will be great way to let us know you have blogged, or simply come across something you want to share. Thank you.

    Also — now feeding Kindle means that hardcopy bought for Favorites shelf along w/ ecopy for Kindle!

    Reply

  28. Emile De Antonio
    Jul 25, 2009 @ 21:49:14

    Nice start to “Silence”!! I’ve been an increasingly enthusiastic reader since (the 2nd book? of)”Sundered” – although the name change delayed my reading of “Hunt” for a couple of years – and was sure that I had read all the novels to date. Today I saw something on Amazon called “Enter the Nother World” by Michelle West, published by Michelle West in 2007, with no reviews or other information about it listed. Is there a Michelle West impersonator out there? Or are you both Michelle Wests? If the latter, why the paucity of information about the book?
    A second observation: On reading your bibliography today I became quite depressed at the number of magazine and anthology stories which revolve around “Hunt” and “Sword”. Do you think that there is any possiblity of publishing them as a background anthology, or do rights questions make that essentially impossible? I think such an anthology would cause great rejoicing among your readers and sell quite well.
    Anyway, my profound thanks for existing and writing, giving me many hours of pleasure.
    -Emile

    Reply

  29. Elizabeth
    Jul 26, 2009 @ 01:57:33

    I read Cast in Silence today. Excellent, but now I can’t wait to read Cast in Chaos.

    Reply

  30. Michelle Sagara
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 00:59:20

    Today I saw something on Amazon called “Enter the Nother World” by Michelle West, published by Michelle West in 2007

    This is a different Michelle West. There are a couple — one is a poet and one wrote a book on, ummm, nursing homes? (I can’t offhand remember). All of the Michelle West stuff that’s relevant to me is published by DAW if it’s a novel. Those, and the short story collection published by Five Star.

    As for the short stories related to the universe, they were originally supposed to be published by a small press which then closed its doors some two years later, book unpublished. I admit I haven’t tried since then to do too much with the stories, because I’ve been mostly focused on novel writing, but I will put a couple of feelers out.

    @Elizabeth Chaos isn’t finished yet, but it’s close. Which doesn’t mean that it’s actually going to be published soon, but I think there’s supposed to be less than a year between Silence and Chaos. If that helps…

    Reply

  31. Jenn
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 17:29:02

    I’ve loved your books for half of my life and you have the distinction of being tied for my favorite author (with fellow Canadian Guy Gavriel Kay). I find the very way you phrase and think to be extremely enjoyable, and that said, I would love to hear any words you wished to spew forth :)

    I’ve lurked about the yahoo group for years, and now that I’ve found this website, I intend to check back often! It feels a little odd, and a little exciting, to be able to see into the life of someone I so admire, who creates the people, lives, and loves that draw me in.

    Your interest in MMO games caught my attention (is, admittedly, what made me post >.> ), and I’d love to hear random thoughts about such things, having played WoW, and still playing Final Fantasy XI, myself.

    I’ve drooled over the Sun Sword for years, and just picked up the Cast books, and I’m so sad I hadn’t sooner. They are just as delicious as the others! On Cast in Shadow now, Kaylin and Lord Nightshade remind me of my favorite Sun Sword ‘couple’, Jay and Avandar, in many ways. You write ‘tense and sexy’ very well. Thank you for being brilliant, and please continue to write whatever floats your boat :) I will always enjoy the read.

    Reply

  32. Michelle Sagara
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 01:32:44

    Your interest in MMO games caught my attention (is, admittedly, what made me post >.> ), and I’d love to hear random thoughts about such things, having played WoW, and still playing Final Fantasy XI, myself.

    I’m still mulling this over, because I think there are a lot of meta-game things that would be interesting to people who otherwise never play. Or at least never play MMOs.

    I love, love, love Guy Gavriel Kay’s books, and have since THE SUMMER TREE was first released in Canada by M&S. But…as so often happens, I have an August deadline, and an October deadline, and those are not as comfortably far away as I would like, so it will probably be delayed a bit.

    Reply

  33. Janet
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 16:12:50

    So happy to read the new cast in silence book. The world seems to get bigger with each book. Thank you.

    Reply

  34. Amy Black
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 01:21:27

    Oh- I wish I had known your schedule sooner! I LOVE your Cast books and would definitely have made the drive to Pittsburgh to see you. Are you coming to Ohio any time soon? I really like this site (I just found it last week) and appreciate the time you’ve put into it. I’m always interested in what books and authors my favorite authors enjoy. I also like the schedule of appearances and releases of your new books. (I always pre-order everything from Borders because I am an impatient person! :D ) Your comments are pretty funny, too. Thank you again for your wonderful books and the time you’ve put into this site! – Amy

    Reply

  35. Mary
    Aug 15, 2009 @ 01:09:08

    Dear Michelle:

    I am a new fan. I have read your first three books and have special ordered “Cast in Fury.” I love all of your books. Kaylin is a wonderful heroine. I love all of the characters. I wish I could write with an imagination equal to yours. I read the chronicles of Narnia when I was in the fourth grade. Books have always been an escape stress reliever. You are a wonderful author. I am amazed that your books are not on the New York Times Bestsellers list. They are such high quality sci-fi fantasy. I am re-reading “Cast in Shadow.” I still occasionally re-read the Chronicles of Narnia. God Bless You Michelle!

    Sincerely,

    Mary

    Reply

  36. Sonya
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 05:28:57

    I was also caught by your interest in MMO’s; I’ve been playing since Everquest came out, played FFXI, played WoW as well for a long while (but then, what MMO fan hasn’t? :P), and am currently playing Lord of the Rings Online, and, as geek as it sounds, also attend anime conventions, as I’m a huge anime fan as well.

    Oh and btw? The men I’ve talked to playing female characters have given me this explanation…if you’re gonna play an MMO you might as well be looking at a woman’s…umm…features while doing it. I still think it surprises some guys to hear a female voice attached to a female character when in voice chat. Personally, I think it’s part of the reason, aside from the fact I play a Mini (bard, cleric, etc.) that a lot of people (note I mean guys, since it’s still a primarily dominated male MMO world, though barely) prefer to play with me. I still don’t run into a lot of women players who actually use voice chat.

    I put off reading your books for awhile, tbh, because while I’m starting to like urban fantasy, I was use to reading a lot more of the “traditional” magic fantasy (i.e. Robin Hobbs, Robert Jordan, Mercedes Lackey, etc., etc., etc.). I have to say your Elantra series is the best I’ve read of this genre yet. I’m thrilled to find another author whose work I can really enjoy and feel connected to the characters, because the characters’ lives are “real” (i.e. they do make mistakes and have to deal with the consequences, they can be humble, and they’re not all-powerful). I consumed all five books in about two weeks, and will probably go back and re-read them because I *know* I missed something…that said, I’m not use to having to really read between the lines. Most fantasy I’ve read the details are given…it’s nice to read something where I have to really think about what’s not being said.

    As for blogs–they’re blogs. We’re perfectly happy to keep up with the life that revolves around you as we are the characters that, I’m sure, have become an almost tangable part of it. Vent if you like, I certainly don’t mind :P And if you want to talk about MMO’s…I could go on about them all day :P Updates on books is a must…I usually keep a close eye on the ones I like and plan financially…in my case it gets expensive, as I read A LOT of fantasy.

    Anyway (rambling, as usual), bring on the books!! I’ve really enjoyed your work, and am really looking forward to the continuing (mis)adventures of Kaylin, though I, like oodles of other readers, would like to see things heat up a little bit in the triangle. On a character level, it seems to me like a good time to push things a little bit between Nightshade and Severn. But that’s only because I’m a hopeless romantic (married with a 4 year old, but still…) :P

    *HUGS*
    Sonya

    Reply

  37. Diana
    Sep 13, 2009 @ 18:33:34

    Not big on leaving comments, however have loved the “Cast” series and eagerly look forward to the next out.

    I would find your comments about raising your son helpful as my Aspberger´s child is now 13. It is always nice to know that you are not alone.

    D

    Reply

  38. Dee
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 17:14:51

    Just got finished reading “Cast in Silence” and I was blown away. Lord Grammy (my nickname for him) is one of favorite characters and I always imagine intimacy between him and Kaylin moreso than Kaylin and Severn. But that’s all in my head of course. Lol!

    I, like many other fans, enjoy that you take more time to build your character’s lives instead of rushing towards romantic climaxes, no pun intended. I’m terribly excited to see what you’ll do with Chaos and love where you taken us thus far.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers