House Name Preliminary cover

On 2010/07/07 at 02:10 hjbau Said: Do you have a cover for House Name? And if so, may i ask who is on the cover this time around?

Because you asked, it occurred to me that it had been a long time since I’d sent the manuscript to my publisher for Jody (A. Lee) to read, so I emailed my editor and asked her if, by chance, the cover had been finished. She replied quickly to say that it had, and that they would send me a .jpeg. I squeed. Yes, I’m too old for that sound, but sometimes it just can’t be helped. Guess what? I have a picture to post. It’s a preliminary cover, in that some of the type or design elements might change before the book is published — but the art won’t. I really like it; I’ve adored all of the covers she’s done, and I really like the covers for this series.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hjbau
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 00:01:27

    I might be a little too old for squeeing as well, but i will admit that i squeed a little bit when i saw the cover too. I have really liked the covers for this series as well. They have looked great and in hard back.

    Thanks again for responding and actually putting the cover up. Thanks very much.

    Reply

  2. Aaron
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 01:45:04

    It’s a striking piece of work. I love the details, like the (neoclassical) interpretation of the Terafin manse, the Council ring, and Justice. But oddly enough, I’ve always pictured Amarais with brown hair at this time period…*shrug*

    Reply

  3. Joey
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 04:08:14

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  4. Daphne
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:49:39

    Excellent! Just the right touch of emotional distancing in her facial expression.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Cover Art - House Name | ImagineDome
  6. Erin
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 20:14:52

    But who is on the cover?!!! It looks great, and I can’t wait!

    Reply

  7. Wendy
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 20:18:23

    Odd. I just finished “City of Night,” and if that’s The Terafin, she is described as having dark hair. I wonder who that is, then, or if The Terafin has just aged too much between books to still have dark hair … :)

    Reply

  8. Estara
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 20:53:47

    Incredible cover, as always.

    Reply

  9. Estara
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 20:59:02

    Addendum: she might simply have her hair powdered here, very customary in the times of Louix XIV in Europe for example – I wouldn’t be surprised if that were the case here, too – considering the way the hair is dressed and the dress is styled. Or it’s a wig – like Elizabethan times

    Reply

  10. Julie
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 21:05:25

    Nice looking cover, but I don’t get a sense of The Terafin from the woman…I had the same reaction with old Rath. I loved the books though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers