A guest blog by yours truly about the CAST novels

Mark Timmony, a reader with whom I’ve corresponded for a number of years, is also the current manager of Galaxy Books in Sydney. He asked me if I’d like to contribute a guest blog post for the Galaxy Bookshop site, and I said yes.

I meant to write something more serious, I honestly did–but I was thinking about the genesis of the CAST novels. You can head on over and read the post at Galaxy now. I’ll answer questions, either there or here, if you have any.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Estara
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 21:07:55

    Can I just say I think this entry in the series is your strongest so far? I finished it yesterday and the emotional growth of Kaylin and the fact she could finally address the feelings between her and Severn and the particular background her persona as Chosen brought to the crisis in this book makes this a major climax on the journey, I’d say.

    I look forward to finding out more of how she’ll deal with the Emperor, the Outcaste, Nightshade and the new Elantra inhabitants.

    Reply

  2. Estara
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 21:19:08

    Having read the post, I’d like to say thanks for that insight into the development and into your interaction with Tanya Huff, another author I read almost everything of.

    Reply

  3. Mark
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 05:56:21

    That’s ok – I’ll hassle you fro a more serious post later :-D

    Reply

  4. Mark
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 05:56:43

    *for

    :-S

    Reply

  5. Jacob
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 02:53:26

    I love the new book and I am interested to see how “maker” has an affect on the world and if Kaylin has to learn, or has already learned, how to speak it’s name. I’m also very interested in the new inhabitants and what they can reveal about the chosen, or maybe teach Kaylin how to travel.

    Very much looking forward to cast in ruin. Great job on the series so far.

    Reply

  6. Kern
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 12:09:08

    I love these books, I get my friends and coworkers to read them every chance I get. I can not wait for the next book. I hate the waiting too!!

    I am not at all surprised to see the many of the female readers think that Nightshade is the right choice for Kaylin. Too many women go for the talk dark mysterious man that is looking for what he can get out of the woman instead of the steady, predictable man that only wants his woman to be safe and happy. Severn is selfless and only wants whats best for kaylin yet Nightshade wants to use her. Why are my sex so “dumb” when it comes to men and relationships??? Its wonderful to see more of Kaylin and Severn’s relationship open up and I look foreward to more!! and more!! and more!!

    Thanks for the great works.

    Reply

  7. Katya
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 00:13:50

    I loved Cast in Chaos, and can’t wait for Ruin! I read the Galaxy post, and just have to say that, even though I found the Elantra series first and loved it, I also enjoy the West books. The style and tone are different in many ways, but I think they’re also alike in a lot of ways. As in, the writing is superb :)

    Reply

  8. shauntel
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 16:06:42

    Loved the book! can you please, please tell us about the item Kaylin took to her room??????

    Reply

  9. Tanja
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 00:55:39

    Really appreciate reading about your early steps as a writer! And like everyone else, after devouring another most excellent story in the Cast universe, I’m eagerly (impatiently) waiting for the next…

    BTW, based on Kern’s comments, Severn sounds rather boring: “wants what’s best for Kaylin” and “safe and happy” — whatever! LOL But I think both of the men in Kaylin’s life have their interesting “bad boy” sides and are intriguing in their very different ways. Still, after re-reading the series over the last few days again, I’m much more interested in discovering what Nightshade does next (and why) and want to read more about him rather than Severn. :)

    Reply

  10. Julia
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 04:46:35

    Michelle, thank you for the insight. I love this series. It’s been interesting seeing how Kaylin has grown since the series started. Especially how her relationships are developing. Just a couple things I would love to know. Where did Severn get his knives from, who trained him to use them, and what happens to the egg Kaylin took home with her.
    As far as Nightshade verses Severn, I’m more intrigued by Severn. Where did he go and what did he do when he couldn’t find Kaylin? When he thought she was dead? That would be interesting to know. I don’t think he’s as boring as some people think.

    Reply

  11. Michelle Sagara
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 05:19:24

    Loved the book! can you please, please tell us about the item Kaylin took to her room??????

    Where did Severn get his knives from, who trained him to use them, and what happens to the egg Kaylin took home with her.

    There is a very real chance that both of these questions will be answered in the book after Cast in Ruin. Cast in Ruin is, as someone elsewhere on the site surmised, about Tiamaris and the refugees; it’s also about the Dragons. The tentatively titled Cast in Danger is at the moment about a couple of things, and I can give two hints: Shadow Wolves and the West March.

    Reply

  12. Estara
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 11:20:58

    Team Severn for the win! That – in order – are the two developments I’m most interested in right now, the dragons and the Wolves.

    Reply

  13. tiamat
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 18:20:03

    I just finished Cast in Chaoa, now I have to wait for Cast in Ruin, so very long!!! *sigh* I definatly love where all the charaters are going, but what’s up with Night shade?! Not that it’s bad but I think ther might be more emotion words used for him in five pages then in the last five books.

    Reply

  14. tiamat
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 18:25:59

    I just finished Cast in Chaos, now I have to wait for Cast in Ruin, so very long!!! *sigh* I definatly love where all the charaters are going, but what’s up with Night shade?! Not that it’s bad but I think there might be more emotion words used for him in five pages then in the last five books.

    Nightshade and Severn are both interesting characters, but Nightshade is sort of more intersting *because* he doesn’t exactly want the best for Kaylin, it makes him more unpredictable. Also I think most women know that he is not a “good” guy, but as a fantasy character, you can think he’s really sexy without being in any danger.

    Reply

    • Estara
      Sep 02, 2010 @ 20:59:34

      Also I think most women know that he is not a “good” guy, but as a fantasy character, you can think he’s really sexy without being in any danger.

      I would have agreed with you as a teenager, but being 43 now I firmly root for the guys that are actually supportive of the heroine.

      The thing is that I’m not sure that Severn isn’t simply emotionally dependent on what he made Kaylin to be for himself (considering he killed children for her). Maybe he’s a borderline obsessed sociopath? It’s not as if we have ever seen him have a friendship outside Kaylin or talk to former Wolf friends except to find out information…

      As long as she can keep satisfy what he needs from her, he will always be willing to do and die for her.

      For some reason I can stand for that, probably because I had the impression that he realised – in the time when Kaylin was gone – that he actually had done something wrong and has been making up for it ever since and controlling himself very carefully, never pressuring too much (just think of the way she went after him in the first book) but taking what was coming to him.

      I do wish I had the impression he had a life outside Kaylin.

      Reply

  15. MeSoCutte
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 16:50:07

    Nice style. I wish I could write that way.

    Reply

  16. Janet
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 15:57:44

    I would like to know how she got started in working with the midwives and foundling hall. Also would like to know what is happening with baby leontine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 481 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers