House Name sample chapter

Volume 03 of House War: House Name

Aaron asked me earlier – while I was in bunker mode – if I’d put up a sample or teaser chapter for House Name, as it’s due out very soon.

Because I’ve been late and things have been hectic, I’ve only just now managed to do this – but in compensation (yes, sadly, I’ve been needing to use that word a lot recently), I’ve put up the prologue and the first chapter of the book.

It’s on the House War page in the sidebar/bibiliography link up top. It’s only .pdf, at the moment; let me know if that’s a problem for anyone.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aaron
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 03:41:15

    Thank you.

    It’s beautiful; and even though I know the story, it makes me want to read more. I guess I’d forgotten how much of a story hadn’t actually been told by the end of ‘Hunter’s Death’.

    Reply

  2. Sujana
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 05:57:07

    Thank you so much! I’ve been looking forward to this book for a while, and reading the sample pages just upped the excitement even more. The House War series looks to be as fantastic as the Sun Sword books!

    Reply

  3. Estara
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 20:27:00

    Yay, exerpt! I have the book on preorder anyway, but still!

    Reply

  4. DeDe
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 03:43:12

    Arghh!!! Why am I never satisfied?! 43 pages – 43 wonderful pages. And now I’m growling at my calendar wishing the holidays were over already? LOL – Michelle I think you like to torture us. :-) Thank you.

    Reply

  5. Carol Duffy
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 07:28:28

    Thank you! I cannot wait for the rest.

    Reply

  6. Erin
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 07:51:42

    AAAHHHH!!! I wasn’t ready to be done yet! Is it January yet?! Thanks for posting the first chapter. That was just about the best belated birthday gift ever (since my birthday was Sunday)! :-D I love the way you are overlapping the books. Hunter’s Death was actually one of my favorites so being able to get more of that story and different points of view is so exciting!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Genna Warner
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 19:12:10

    I too would like to say thank you for posting this Michelle. I am now chomping at the bit wanting to read the rest of the story.

    Reply

  8. David Youngs
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 02:46:00

    Michelle:
    small niggle. The page with the House Wars books says that House Name is due out January 2010.
    Now, shall I tantalize myself by reading one chapter, or wait till the book comes out?

    Reply

  9. Ann
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 05:50:14

    Love your books! I think sun sword series would make an awesome anime! I was wondering if the publisher or yourself would release sun sword series in ebook format? I have all your books in paper format but it’d be nice to have the averalaan world in one place. :D

    Reply

  10. Cassandra Chan
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 07:38:36

    What a wonderful surprise today, in the midst of all the craziness that is a bookstore two days before Christmas. I went into the stockroom and there, just sitting there on a half-empty cart, was a copy of House Name! (And two mass markets of City of Night. I shudder to think I might not even have noticed it but for the fact that it was sitting face-up.) I know we’re getting close to January, but still, I really wasn’t expecting it yet, and in the Christmas crush I hadn’t been checking on its status as I usually would. I shudder to think I might not even have noticed it but for the fact that it was sitting face-up. So tonight I have an early Christmas present. Thank you, Michelle & DAW.

    Reply

  11. dino
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 15:58:58

    I have really enjoyed the Sun Sword and Hunter books (multiple reads) and am I can’t wait for the upcoming releases. As I am hooked on audiobooks which are all I have time for with my commuting schedule somedays, I am wondering – are any audio versions are being considered?

    Reply

  12. hjbau
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 22:15:11

    I am so jealous that you found a copy of House Name. I really want to go looking, but it is Christmas eve, so i will try and resist. Merry Christmas everyone and happy reading.

    Reply

  13. Erin
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 00:25:49

    I am jealous too! Just one more reason I need to work at a bookstore…if only I could find one to hire me! I just asked for a gift card for Christmas since the book was coming out in January. :-)

    Reply

  14. Theresa
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 22:12:27

    Hi Michelle,

    Do you know if House Name will be released inKindle Format? I checked Amazon today and the book itself has been released but there is no Kindle version (City of Night eBook was released the same day as to the hardcover). Thanks

    Theresa

    Reply

  15. Kim
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:18:27

    Yes, I was also wondering about when it will be released for the kindle as well.

    Reply

  16. Hash
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 15:18:33

    Eagerly waiting to read the book. When will it be out as an ebook?

    Reply

  17. Erin
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 20:03:42

    I had to break down and order the book online! The one copy that came into my bookstore got sold before Jan 1st, when I went looking for it! They had more on order, but it was gonna be at least a week…time to turn to the online store. The order has since been delayed and I am still waiting!! Darn it for taking the cheap way and picking the free shipping. :-p

    Reply

  18. Michelle Sagara
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 02:17:52

    Cassandra> Our store copies just arrived this past Thursday – just in time for me to snag one and send it back home with my LA-bound sister, who was here for a couple of weeks over the holidays.

    I’ve been so totally off-line I might as well have been on Mars, and I’m catching up–slowly–as of Right Now — but thank you so much for dropping in to let me know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 485 other followers