Yet another question time

First: Genna asked, in the previous comment’s thread, about Cast in Moonlight. The Harlequin terms for the novellas are exactly the same as the terms for their novels. For most short fiction, the author grants exclusive rights to publish, in the English language, for one year, after which the author is free to do what she wants with the story – sell reprint rights, etc.

In the case of Cast in Moonlight, this doesn’t apply, so while I would love to bring the story out as a standalone, I can’t.

Second: I’ve noticed that people have been buying Echoes from Amazon. Genna (again!) said that on her kindle, the introduction is in a pale grey tone. There is the tiny possibility that I may have done something stupid with the color of the text – by accident – and I’m re-uploading the book to Amazon. While I have always appreciated my publishers, I swear, I have never appreciated them quite as much as I do now.

Third: If there are problems with any of the ebooks, please let me know. In this case – as opposed to any problems there might be with my novels – there’s a reasonable chance I can do something to fix it.

And now, on to the question.

The short story project is an ongoing effort, and because it’s required so much time to climb the learning curve, it’s obviously of interest to me. I’m not as certain it’s of interest to all of my readers, most of whom are probably looking to this site for information about the novels, and many of whom don’t read ebooks.

I’d like to be able to post about the short stories as I release them, but I don’t want to flood anyone’s RSS or mailboxes with information they don’t want. (One of the reasons I want to do this is the covers. There’s something about a cover — possibly the fact that I didn’t have anything to do with its creation, beyond a few flailing words here and there — that makes me happy. If someone was pulling all their hair out and cursing creatively at their computer to create those covers, it wasn’t me.)

I can create another blog for the short story information, if people would prefer that. In order to get the hundred ISBN block, I am a small press of one, so I could create a ‘Rosdan Press’ blog, at which I would post information about the ebook singles.

Would you prefer that?

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Kopchik
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 18:12:52

    I would think this blog would be the place for those posts… what you’re doing with the short stories is still about you as a writer and of interest to your fans. (Well, at least to this fan!)

    Reply

  2. Jacob
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 18:21:34

    I’d prefer the information here as well. Just seems more convenient, and I appreciate finding out when I can get more from the Sun Sword universe, as I think I’ve only read one of these short stories…

    Reply

  3. Sam
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 18:44:41

    Count me as another in favor of posting about the short stories here, though it doesn’t make much of a difference to me as long as I know where to look. Regardless of where the information is posted, I look forward to more ebooks being released.

    Reply

  4. Carol Duffy
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 18:54:55

    I’m certainly interested in reading it here :)

    Reply

  5. Vicky
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 18:58:28

    I agree with the three previous comments: continue posting to this blog. I don’t know about other readers but I have really enjoyed reading about the process and have gained a new appreciation of the effort involved in epublishing.

    Reply

  6. technomom
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 19:11:03

    I’d prefer to read about them here :-)

    Reply

  7. Viviana
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 19:14:36

    I also would prefer to read them here!

    Reply

  8. Hugh S. Myers
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 19:20:35

    Let us keep the trend going—here is not only good but greatly preferred :)

    Reply

  9. Genna Warner
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 19:50:42

    I also would like them here.

    Reply

  10. Hilda
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 20:12:06

    Ditto.

    Reply

  11. Hillary
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 20:33:28

    I want these stories when they’re done and I don’t mind hearing about it here…of course if you start a new blog, I’ll just RSS it too!

    Reply

  12. Aaron
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 20:38:30

    My experience with your short stories came well after I started reading your novels. Even so, I [insert obsequious cringe] sometimes think that you’re a better short story/novella writer than you are a novelist.

    So yes, you should definitely post information about your short stories here. In fact, you may draw a bigger audience to your West novels (which some my find a bit difficult to penetrate) through your short stories; indeed, we just had this topic come up on the Yahoo group.

    Reply

    • Sascha
      Jul 05, 2011 @ 20:49:52

      I disagree that she’s better at one or the other. What I would say is that her short stories are WAY BETTER than so many others. If I see an anthology with a Michelle West story, I jump on it. This includes the Valdemar anthologies which I would not bother reading otherwise. Her Valdemar shorts and Echoes really show how well she knows how to package and present a short story. I read Echoes thinking, oh this is a nice story, then I got to the end and burst into tears.

      Reply

  13. Shayla Smith
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 20:46:22

    Here! I’d love to see more posts from you—short stories or anything else!

    Reply

  14. Mary Allen
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 12:41:03

    I too prefer one site and any and all info you give us is appreciated

    Reply

  15. Estara
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 14:12:16

    Casting my vote with the “here” crowd. Truly, you don’t really post all that often compared to other authors – it comes in spurts ^^.

    Reply

  16. DG
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 14:18:22

    I’m not an ebook reader, however, I personally come to this blog to see what you are working on, ebook, printed, or otherwise. Who knows, I might be interested in downloading an ebook if one catches my eye.

    So, I’m with the masses on this decision. Post information about your short stories on this blog. No need to make another blog. Just make sure you categorize your blog posts within Word Press and post away. I don’t think people will get flooded with useless info at all. That’s what mail filters are for. :)

    DG,
    Self-Proclaimed President of Team Nightshade

    Reply

  17. Sarah
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 23:33:39

    I would prefer you post all your publishing updates here :) You’ve stated in a previous post (somewhere) that you wanted this blog to be for your publications. Given that, it seems the perfect place to give us updates on your short stories. Cheers :)

    Reply

  18. shauntel
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 10:15:31

    I like knowing that this site has all your current stories and short stories, I always read the comments and check your downloads. Even though I may not post alot of comments.

    I am one seriously happy fan with your current site, please don’t change :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 481 other followers