Some news

First: I’ve just been informed by my editor that Cast in Fury and Cast in Silence are going to appear as audio books/files at Audible.com in September, which is also when they first appear in mass market editions. But where, you ask, are the first three? We’re working on that now. (When I say we, what I mean is my agent, when I say working, I mean negotiating; I’m reasonably optimistic that the first three will also be produced at around the same time). These will be my very first appearance in audio, so I’m pretty excited about it.

Second: Echoes has finally been approved by Smashwords for is premium catalogue. This means that it will now propagate from the aggregator (which is what services like Smashwords are commonly called) to the other ebook retail sites: Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Diesel and Sony. The estimated time from Smashword shipment to consumers is: approximately two weeks.

It’s been two weeks (15 days) since Echoes was uploaded to Smashwords for review to be approved for retail channel distribution.

What this is means is there’s a month-long window from the time I upload a book to Smashwords to the time it appears in any of their retailer venues. The exception to this is Diesel, for which no time-frame is given; this might mean the books go to Diesel and are offered immediately.

I don’t actually know how long it will take for the iBooks version to be available, yet; I’m watching to see when it goes live. The first book, Echoes, was uploaded on the 6th of July; it’s currently the 14th of July, and it is still in the review queue (quality assurance review, not critical review).

Amazon.com is pretty much twenty-four to thirty-six hours (it was less for Huntbrother, longer for Echoes). So Amazon.com has the clear lead-time of availability. (Amazon also has tens of thousands of spam ebooks – books for 0.99 which contain links to web-site garbage, rather than content. Smashwords doesn’t. Smashwords has a review team composed of people; Amazon doesn’t. These are the tradeoffs.)

If you’re comfortable with side-loading, the book is available on Smashwords from the moment I upload it to the Premium Catalogue distribution review queue, in most formats – and it’s the same epub that will, one month later, be available at Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and Sony, at the same price. I believe the mobi format offered there also works on the Kindle. I believe that Smashwords also allows you to download any of the formats available, if you switch ereaders. Or if, for some reason, you have two.

This does not mean I love the kindle or prefer it to the Kobo, Nook or iPad; I don’t. I have an iPad, after all, which I adore like a crazy person, even if I don’t read very much on it.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lyssabits
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 14:23:10

    Yay, audiobooks! Did they say who is reading the book?

    Reply

  2. Michelle Sagara
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 14:35:10

    @ lyssabits: No – I literally got email saying Fury and Silence were being brought out as audio books. I can ask – I admit I don’t listen to audio books myself >.>.

    Reply

    • Michael
      Jul 18, 2011 @ 22:08:12

      I use audio books for two things:
      Long car trips (been doing this for years)
      My morning walks (a new tradition, but it makes walking 3.4 miles every morning bearable)

      So I am super-excited! By the time I’m done with Gaiman I can move on to you!

      Reply

  3. Tina Lannes Loflin
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 14:46:33

    Dear Michelle.
    I don’t have any computer-book media(KIndle, Nook, and so on)–I can’t afford it. One day, maybe. I do love books, to turn the pages, to immerse myself in Story, and find myself in another world.
    An new books in the “Cast In..”(Elantra) series would be and are joyously welcome and I cannot wait for the next one to come out. I’m patient, though…:-D
    I hope you are doing well, and will keep checking up on any news!
    Peace, love and joy,
    Tina

    Reply

  4. Viviana
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 15:13:07

    I’m very happy about the audio books! Don’t worry, I love the “Cast” series too much to not purchase the printed copy as soon as it comes out; but as someone who spends a great deal of my spare time knitting, audio books are an excellent way to get my lit fix and my knit fix at the same time.

    So I’m glad to know that when I need ‘comfort lit’ (a story that won’t be a letdown or unpleasant surprise), I’ll have some “Cast” books to enjoy.

    Reply

  5. Frédéricke
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 15:22:16

    I am a French fan chronicles of Elantra. Unfortunately just after the release in French CAST IN FURY HARLEQUIN stop publishing label LUNA. Then following the adventures of Kaylin is no longer published in French. Do you know if another editor will take over the french edition because I can not wait to read more ?

    Reply

  6. Majere
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 13:11:33

    Brilliant news about the soon to be audio version of the Cast series!!!! Do you know if the UK site of audible will also stock them? Also, is there anychance of letting us know, who the narrator will be, when you have the information?
    Thanks in advance. R

    Reply

  7. Estara
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:06:28

    Also to note: Amazon.com collects VAT if you live in a country that has that for books – Smashwords does NOT collect VAT, so no additional money need be paid.

    Reply

  8. w-b
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 17:05:14

    Wooot you made my day. I will now have your cast series in three formats ya i know a nut…. paper, ereader and audio.. I am a happy woman :)

    Reply

  9. Miki
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 01:50:26

    Is there any reason why they chose 5 and not 6 (or even 7, including the one releasing ANY DAY now?)

    Like Viviana, I like audiobooks for times when I’m tied up doing something physical, but don’t want the television on. It seems to me it works better with books I’ve actually read, because I might be in and out of the room (I’m thinking of housework at the moment) or whatever. So I can remember where I am, since I already know the story.

    Anyway, I hope they’ll eventually do them ALL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers