Final Skirmish Cover

I am hip-deep in revisions – which is better than the chin-deep I was a week ago. When I am writing, and writing is going (relatively) well, I tend to be on-line more; I’ll tweet or I’ll post. When revisions are problematic, they eat my brain, and I tend to disappear. I’m sorry =/.

But mail arrived from DAW which I wanted to share here: the final version of the Skirmish cover. The novel is slated for January 2012 release in hardcover, and I will–when revisions on Peril are done–begin work on a ‘story so far’, something I haven’t done before. I’ll post that somewhere on the site as the date approaches.

Without further comment:

 (Actually, there is further comment, sadly. I can’t adjust the image in WordPress at the moment, so the larger file is cut off no matter what I do. If you click on the picture, however, you’ll see the image in full size. Sorry >.<)

49 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hjbau
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:23:41

    There is definitely blood on Jewel’s hand. If you look at the very enlarged version of the cover.

    Thanks Michelle. And the picture looks right to me in the post.

    Reply

  2. hjbau
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:24:16

    PS. Good luck on the revisions. Look forward to reading Skirmish.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Sagara
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:25:50

    @hjbau: I actually removed the larger image because it showed 2/3s of the cover (right to left) at any other size; that’s why it’s a large thumb-nail instead of a larger image, which did display correctly for me in Safari. Did you see the larger image properly before I edited it?

    Reply

    • hjbau
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:45:23

      I didn’t see it here on the page. Just the small thumbnail, but when you click on it and then enlarge the image everything looks alright. I misunderstood. I love the cover by the way.

      Reply

    • hjbau
      Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:51:48

      Maybe you mean seeing both the front and back cover. The size of the picture seems about the same as the other pictures of covers on this page. I am on firefox.

      On Skirmish…is there anyway we can talk you into a chapter or two? Pretty please.

      Reply

  4. Ann Kopchik
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:28:48

    I have to say, I love this cover. I wouldn’t mind owning a print of the art!

    Good luck with the revisions. Hope to see you around on twitter when you reach the other side. :)

    Reply

  5. Michael
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:31:07

    There are days it would be nice to rearrange the linearity of my timeline. Right now I would love to take a little walk through the mists into next January.

    Happy revising! Your hard work is appreciated!

    Reply

  6. DaiyoukaiGeisha
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 22:52:27

    I just finished reading The Sun Sword books, currently re-reading The House War books. So, the next book being due out in January is awesome! Thank you for writing such incredibly engaging stories and characters. (I’m not sure who I love more though, Nightshade from the Cast In… books or Avandar Gallais/Viandaran from this series. :D )

    DG,
    Self-proclaimed President of Team Nightshade

    Reply

  7. Genna Warner
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 00:38:01

    This is my favorite cover for the House War series thus far. It could be that I am a cat person there by having the cats on the cover sways me a bit. Also saw the cover for Silence today on DAW’s web site and then went to Amazon to pre-order it. The covers you have been getting are absolutely gorgeous. As someone above stated I would also love to have prints of this cover (and Silence’s cover).

    I am hope that revisions to Peril are going well enough that we can see you posting more often. :)

    Reply

  8. Chris
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 04:35:33

    I saw the cover on Amazon’s listing earlier today and so guessed that you might be posting soon. Thanks for the update!

    Meanwhile, after trying to order Riven Shield from DeepDiscount and Lulu, and having horrible experiences with both sellers, and after much searching I finally was able to locate a copy at an actual library. Ime, libraries don’t have very good selections at all anymore, so this was quite a pleasant surprise. I just made it to approximately page 300 last night, so I should have no problem in being ready for Skirmish when it hits. I’m quite relieved, as I really am very much looking forward to Skirmish and assumed that it would make more sense to have completed the Sun Sword series first.

    Reply

    • Hugh S. Myers
      Nov 16, 2011 @ 11:47:48

      Not much success with inter-library loan I take it?

      Reply

      • Chris
        Nov 16, 2011 @ 22:25:41

        Not so much. It was a good thing I went in person anyway, as the staff had trouble finding it. Maybe someone on a different shift would have been more familiar with it’s location, but those I spoke to insisted it must have been in either the Adult MMPB or New Fantasy sections. I’m just glad to finally have it in hand, in time.

        Reply

  9. Estara
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 04:44:24

    So intriguing! So this was the cover Jody Lee was working on this February when I bought one of her postcard-sized oil originals on Etsy.com (we had a lovely exchange about your books ^^ and her great covers for them).

    Actually, I dropped by to let you know that, while you weren’t on the preliminary ballot of the GoodReads Choice awards, lots of people loved Cast in Ruin so much (I was one of them) that they added you to the write-in vote and since the top 5 books of the write-in vote get added to the semi-finals (which are running right now), Cast in Ruin is one of the votes!

    Maybe you could let your readers know, so they could vote for you in Best Fantasy: http://www.goodreads.com/award/choice/2011#56596-Best-Fantasy

    Reply

  10. Hugh S. Myers
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 11:54:47

    Image seems to be working fine now—yesterday it required a click to see anything at all. Now a properly cropped version appears just fine. Being able to see the larger one is frosting on the cake!

    Reply

  11. Hilda
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 16:21:02

    Welcome back, Michelle. The Skirmish cover is great. Like Anne and others I would love a print of it to frame. I could also see the blood on the hand when I click on it, and her face expression is hard to tell whether she is angry, hurt or surprised; very expressive. The cats, the cats,,, white, gray and black. Let’s hope Avandar didn’t turn people into cats. Jewel hates cats.

    Reply

  12. Sue Ivey
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 17:44:30

    I don’t think they’re cats, but Gryphons. Love the cover!

    Reply

  13. hjbau
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 18:21:28

    They are the stone cats right? The flying stone cats from one of the Sun Sword books, The Shinning Court maybe was it?

    Reply

  14. Roger
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 22:21:51

    Nice cover. Looking forward to the book.

    BTW, what is PERISH? Is that the next book in the House of War sequence?

    Reply

  15. Bette McKown
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 17:27:18

    Any chance the Cast books will be available on CD? Hope so. I don’t have access to other formats, and I love the books. Thanks. Bette

    Reply

  16. Edward
    Nov 24, 2011 @ 14:15:48

    Well one more on the pre-order list.. So now the wait till the new year…. The angst of waiting to find out how the story unwinds. ;)

    Reply

  17. Chelseey
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 11:05:13

    First Chapter pleaaaseee? Can’t wait! :)

    Reply

  18. hjbau
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 15:56:45

    I know. A new West book. Only a month a way. Please on the chapters if you can when you have a moment.

    Reply

  19. Mike S.
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 19:01:23

    Is there any word of when your backlist will be available in ebook format? You posted a couple of months ago that they were coming soon, and I haven’t found hide nor hai on amazon o bn… Waiting with bated breath…

    Reply

    • Aaron M.
      Dec 10, 2011 @ 20:25:53

      I wonder if DAW is physically doing the conversion themselves, or if they’ve delegated to some outside entity. If it’s in-house, then I imagine they just wrapped up one of their busiest release schedules of the year and are now letting their employees take vacation time. I wouldn’t expect them much before Jan/Feb.

      Reply

  20. Hilda
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 19:38:34

    Will we discover in Skirmish or in War that Jewel is the matriarch of the lost Voyani family, and would it be Carrallon? It’s so hard to wait to discover all the answers. Would we find out who killed The Terafin? On this I have absolutely no clue. I ordered Skirmish months ago from Amazon. I think it will be delivered on the 3rd. Hurry up New Year!

    Reply

  21. Marcy
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 21:07:50

    I have a question for fellow readers (or Michelle if she has time. ha). Michelle has often talked about her other job, working in a bookstore, where she matches people with books. “If you liked this, you’ll probably like this.” I’m trying to find an online equivalent of this interaction. I thought Goodreads.com would solve the problem, but even though it’s a great resource and a very good site, I’m not seeing the functionality for such a specific query. In fact, Amazon’s ‘people who bought this also bought this’ seems to be getting me the best results so far. Does anybody have a suggestion?

    Reply

    • Estara
      Dec 21, 2011 @ 07:57:34

      Attempting to reply directly again ^^:

      With regard to GoodReads, Marcy, the new Recommendations tab at the top of the GoodReads screen is supposed to work similarly – however from what I can see you first have to have entered and rated books of your own AND tagged them appropriately – like epic fantasy or historical romance or whatever. Then they compare your categories to other people who have rated the same books similarly and offer you other books which those people have rated well.

      Personally I find my recs via book review blogs, online friends’ reviews and on GoodReads by following people with similar taste – when I come across those occasionally.

      Reply

  22. Tickle
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 23:34:09

    Hello Michelle,

    I’m waiting with bated breath for both Skirmish and
    Cast in Peril. It is now close to the pub date for Skirmish, so can we get a sample chapter to wet our appetites?

    Reply

    • Audrey
      Dec 30, 2011 @ 18:24:52

      If you google “skirmish michelle west”, you should find a link to books.google.com. This has a book preview of Skirmish, which contains most of the prologue. Its normal Michelle West work, brilliant. And its making the wait for 3rd January incredibly difficult!

      Reply

      • Chris
        Dec 30, 2011 @ 22:25:48

        While I’m not Tickle, I’d like to thank you for the info Audrey.

        I just finished reading The Sun Sword through around page 400 last night (this morning technically). From what I’ve heard I think that I’ve read all the chapters that deal with Terafin. Waiting a few days to see what happens next is tough.

        Even small questions like Where will the Stag stay (Does he get a room or the stables)? How will Lord Celleriant blend in (I doubt that it will be easy to keep him under wraps)? How long can they keep Adam’s healing talent a secret? I can’t imagine what it must be like for people who’ve had to wait years for the answers to so many questions.

        Reply

        • Hilda
          Jan 02, 2012 @ 15:51:03

          Like you I have lots of questions for the next 2 books, but this is because I have practically only read Michelle’s books for the past 1 1/2 years, so I have all kind of detaiils in my mind. For example, in Sea of Sorrows, Evayne told Kallandras that Celleriant may die if the Queen did not bind him to Jewel . So, will he die as he arrives in Terafin, or isn’t Terafin the “destination”? Evayne recommended Jewel leaves him behind.
          In that same section, Kallandras had a dream about wild mages, and he was told thay are sleeping, not dead; he is told to wake them. (Who are they? ) A moment later Evayne told Kallandras that the Gods are touching the dreaming; not all of them are alive (which are?) , not all of them are known. I just keep wondering when we will find all the answers; there’s just 2 books left.

        • Auraya
          Jan 02, 2012 @ 18:38:05

          Mrs. West will write two more House War books with Jewel. Skirmish is one, War will be the second. But after that there will be another series called “The End of Days”. We don’t know how many books that one will end up being. Sun Sword started as a duology. So we might get a lot more books in this universe.

        • Chris
          Jan 03, 2012 @ 01:37:01

          Hilda,

          I am impressed that you have managed to stick to Michelle Sagara West books only. In my case I like to read other authors, both for what some of them have to say, and also because I think that such serve as good distractions to make the waits between books easier to bear.

          It appears that you’ll get at least some of an answer on Celleriant in Skirmish. As far as his future goes, I noticed that in The Sun Sword Evayne had a very brief warning to Kallandras about him in Averda, around the village of Russo. She said that there may come a time when they would be fighting on opposite sides, and so my guess is that he’ll stick around for quite awhile still.

          Good question about the wild mages, it’s an answer that I think we’ll have to wait awhile to get. In the same way, I’m quite curious about Angel’s mission, but I’ll assume that we won’t get that info soon (though I could be wrong).

      • Aaron M.
        Dec 31, 2011 @ 00:12:07

        If you select the ebook sample, as opposed to the print book, they don’t omit any pages of the prologue. Thanks for the info!

        Reply

        • Tickle
          Jan 02, 2012 @ 13:44:03

          Thanks for the link! I read some and there are pages omitted, but I will be buying this tomorrow so no worries! I can’t wait. You guys should check out her short story called Warlord, which is about Avandar and how he came to be Jewel’s domicus.

      • Onon
        Dec 31, 2011 @ 21:02:34

        I have googled as you say but simply cannot find the ebook to click on. Can you help?

        Reply

  23. Estara
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 07:56:47

    With regard to GoodReads, Marcy, the new Recommendations tab at the top of the GoodReads screen is supposed to work similarly – however from what I can see you first have to have entered and rated books of your own AND tagged them appropriately – like epic fantasy or historical romance or whatever. Then they compare your categories to other people who have rated the same books similarly and offer you other books which those people have rated well.

    Personally I find my recs via book review blogs, online friends’ reviews and on GoodReads by following people with similar taste – when I come across those occasionally.

    Reply

  24. Hilda
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 20:43:31

    One week and Skirmish will be in my hands. One more sleepless night.

    Reply

  25. Chris
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 22:26:51

    I have no idea how well the books sell. But I’d like to thank everyone who has been supporting them all of these years, so that when latecomers such as myself finally catch up, the series is still around. I’ve seen some great stories cut short before their time, and I’m quite gratified that nothing like that has happened here.

    And of course, much thanks to Michelle Sagara West for writing in this world. It is an honor to be able to share in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 484 other followers