Silence, cover


Silence, the first book in the Queen of the Dead trilogy, will be published in hardcover in May, 2012. In any practical sense, this means the book will be available in North America sometime at the end of April, 2012.

People have asked me what it’s about; some have assumed because of the cover, that it’s a paranormal romance. It is paranormal, but for reasons that are entirely in character, it’s not a romance – and I am really hoping that this does not disappoint people =/.

The cover flap is a bit of a spoiler, IMHO. So if you hate spoilers, and you want to read this book, you’re probably better off not reading it.

Emma Hall is a high school student whose first (and only) boyfriend died in the summer in a car accident — before the book starts. Nathan was almost her entire world, and she’s now left with the bits and pieces of life that weren’t Nathan–her friends, school, her mother. She spends far too much time in the cemetery at Nathan’s grave, because it’s quiet there and she doesn’t have to make excuses for how she feels, or how she doesn’t feel.

She doesn’t expect to meet people in the cemetery, but one night she does, and as a result of that disturbing meeting, she begins to see things she’s never seen, and to hear things that no one else hears.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joey
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 22:49:56

    Thank you, Dear Author!!!

    Looking forward to it! And I am happy with more paranormal and less romance. You know I’d be pleased with very dark and even horror (I think your “Elegy” – a favorite of mine — is horror), but you do what you do. :)

    Thanks again!

    Reply

  2. Paul Howard
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 22:52:27

    Sounds interesting. [Smile]

    Reply

  3. ChristiesBookReviews (@Christiewriting)
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 01:44:27

    I’m a huge fan of your cast series :) This sounds great I can’t wait to read this also :) thanks for sharing! Beautiful cover ;)

    Reply

  4. Kel
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 02:39:03

    It looks lovely. And I blame the lace over-skirt for the romance assumptions ;)

    Reply

  5. Jenni Ebba
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 02:57:16

    Have it added to my TBR pile. Love your Cast novels and this story sounds like something I definitely have to try. :)

    Reply

  6. claudia wilcox
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 05:07:26

    Claudia Wilcox

    Love all of your books. Look forward to this series.

    Reply

  7. Michael
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 06:10:34

    And… PRE-ORDERED! I am so excited to read this! Ever since that sample you read while sitting on the floor in the basement of Confluence in 2008 and told us that you *didn’t know when or if it would be published*.

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  8. Jashby
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 12:28:24

    Yes! Some post-school reading to look forward to!

    Reply

  9. Jane
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:16:26

    That is truly a beautiful cover. I LOVE her dress. And although not typically a fan of YA, I’m excited to pick this one up and recommend it to my friends who do like YA.

    Jane

    Reply

  10. Genna Warner
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 19:48:01

    Love the cover and I can’t wait to read the story.

    Reply

  11. DG
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 20:49:01

    I admit it, I next to never pay attention to cover art. I’m more interested in what’s “in” the book than “on” it. That said, I’m putting this gem directly on to my wishlist!

    Reply

  12. Hilda,
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 19:08:42

    I’m ambivalent about it, but for sure will preorder as soon as it becomes available in Amazon. You turn out such wonderful books which I love to read and re-read, that I can’t pass it. I have yet to read any of those vampires/werewolf books loved by millions, and I’m not much for ghosts stories. The lovely dress, and specially that beautiful Labrador (?) next to her, plus apparently she develops extraordinary sensory skills, will bring me to the first page. This may turn out to be like detective/mystery stories (don’t tell us) where she can use extra-sensory perception to solve problems. I would love those. Looking forward to them.

    Reply

  13. ralphw2548
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 12:14:07

    I have already pre ordered from B&N. I am not put off by the YA label. In fact, I found Megan Whalen Turner’s Attolia series very enjoyable. The premise of this story sounds intriguing. If its anything like your short story Ghostwood ( my personal favorite), it will be a success.

    Reply

  14. David Y
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 23:05:35

    Jim Hines shouldn’t have any difficulty posing his body into that position.

    Reply

  15. Susan E
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 01:19:45

    The doggie looks like a mastiff to me. Big like a Dane but not rangy enough. I guess I’ve seen a couple of Lab mixes almost that blocky. Still I’ll go for mastiff.

    Reply

  16. Hilda
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 17:41:07

    11+ years ago my son bought a very black and big puppy from a mix Black Labrador and black Great Dane. The puppy grew up to become a lamb in a huge and tall dog body, a really tall dog. Even at his age still plays like a puppy and defends his family like a lion. Looks just like the picture.

    Reply

  17. jen
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 13:17:02

    I have to say this is a major case of a cover selling a book to me without even reading the blurb – the dress! The dog! (which reminded me of a Rottie/Lab cross I met recently… glad I wasn’t the only one wondering, lol!)

    Reply

    • Hilda
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:43:41

      Jen, I really had to laugh, you are so right. Michelle has probably sold thousands of this book already and the only thing she has given us is a tiny description mostly saying what it’s not about, and a beautiful cover. Cheers for the dog… and the dress.

      Reply

  18. Lavanya Vijayaraghavan
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 13:40:55

    dear michelle,
    hi! the cover looks fantastic and quite different from the cast books, was that intentional? i had a question – what do YOU think makes a book “young adult” vs. any other age? Once I got past the “see spot run” phase, i don’t think i have EVER read age-appropriate books – my father gave me Children of Dune on my 11th birthday and I still enjoy Enid Blyton at the ripe old age of 38. So is Silence a ‘YA’ book? If so, why the focus on a particular age group, when so far it doesn’t seem to be the case (to me) that someone has to be a particular age to be able enjoy your books? Also, have to confess that the phrase ‘YA” really gets up my nose for some weird reason, whilst ‘children’s books’ doesn’t. Just a generation/culture thing, I suppose.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 472 other subscribers