Writing progress, and update

No pictures this time. I don’t have a camera. My husband has the scanner (at his office).

I’m about halfway through House Name, which is the tentative title for the second book of House War.

I’m laying out background information for Cast in Silence, the fifth Cast novel.

My job for next week is to read through a couple of stories, and then read through chapter one of everything I have in an electronic format (which, unfortunately, doesn’t actually include any of the Sundered books because I had those backups on floppies and they were unreadable many years later =/. But I hope to clean up the mistakes that weren’t copy-edited out of existence in the finished books, and then to have first chapters available here for downloads, as samples of the book.

But: I added an interviews page, and also an upcoming appearances page. Because they have no pictures. >.>.

All right.  Back to the book now.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hjbau
    May 30, 2008 @ 01:47:11

    Ah, half way through house name. Awesome. It is the tentative title? I didn’t know that. I can’t wait to read it though, good luck.

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    May 30, 2008 @ 03:55:31

    Ah, half way through house name. Awesome. It is the tentative title? I didn’t know that. I can’t wait to read it though, good luck.

    It is, but I’m not sure it will stand; about a third of my titles don’t. I need a title in order to start a novel (I have, on the other hand, submitted stories called “Untitled”), but once the book is written, I’m not necessarily attached to the titles themselves.

    Although having said that, all of the DAW titles are my titles (the only thing I had to change was the series name for SUN SWORD, because I called it The Southern War initially, and this wasn’t considered a strong enough fantasy title. Which is absolutely true.

    I did have to go back and add about eight thousand words of Rath, though. And I may actually be over half-way done, but, ummm. It’s me.

    Reply

  3. Madeleine Kenney
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 01:51:59

    Dear Michelle Sagara,

    Ok, first I must say that your humor in the Cast series is beyond funny. I start chuckling every time I read my favorite part in Cast in Fury (by the way I voted that a 5 star book). I hope you are going to put the cover of Cast in Silence on your wbsite like you did with Cast in Fury because that made the wait a lot more bearable. Well, I don’t mean to antagonize you or anything, but it is always a thrill to talk to one of my favorite authors.

    Sincerly,
    Madeleine

    Reply

    • Jonathan Le Veille
      Sep 27, 2010 @ 13:53:15

      Hi, are you the Madeleine Kenney that wrote “Protector of Tranquility”, for the one year adventure novel program? If so I was wondering if you had finished it yet. I have read it in the student showcase, but it wasn’t completely finished. If you have, is there any way I could read the rest of it? I really liked the story, and it was a neat idea for a story line.

      Thanks, Jonathan Le Veille

      Reply

  4. Dee
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 02:38:19

    Just finished my third read of Cast in Fury, it’s been a pleasure. I actually re-read the first three books prior to reading Cast in Fury just so I could be firmly rooted in Kaylin’s world again.

    My favourite character is Lord Nightshade, you have done such a brilliant job with him, there is a great deal more to him than the evil crime lord, in fact that could be the least part of him. Why is he marginally acknowledged by both the High Court and the Dragon Court, who was he before he took the fief, what is Erenne and what are his plans/feelings for Kaylin. Enigma wrapped in mystery, great character.

    Actually I can just say great characters all around, even the minor characters are beautifully portrayed. I would never have guessed that the scene with Kaylin delivering a Leontine cub would have any meaning beoynd her being late and tired, great bit of continuity there.

    Thanks for the many hours of enjoyment so far, I will try to content myself with the current 4 books for the next year whilst waiting for Cast in Silence.

    Reply

  5. Karen Marks
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 08:52:35

    Big Hello from Australia!

    I have recently finished the 4th book in the Cast series and I really love the majority of the characters!

    In the meantime (waiting for 5th), a few days ago I started reading The Hidden City and I also LOVE IT! I’ve taken to carrying it around with me at home and spent a delicious day of loading up the washing machine and reading this book.

    I’ve realised that I will have to read the previous two series you have written in the meantime for the 2nd book to come out. After that I guess it will be obsessively checking your website!

    I love your work, please don’t ever stop writing.

    Regards

    Karen Marks

    Reply

  6. Marisa
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 00:16:16

    I can’t wait for the fifth Cast novel to come out. My mind has daydreamed way too much, which might mean I’ll have to write my own fan fiction book. I love Kaylin and I really like all the parts with her symbols and magic. I wonder if the Old Ones could make her immortal? Just a thought…How many are going to be in the series? I hope it never ends.

    Your fellow writer (not yet published),
    Marisa :-)

    Reply

    • jccoadmin
      Oct 16, 2012 @ 01:39:57

      I don’t know if you’ll see this because you wrote this four years ago — but my friend and I created a fan site for Michelle Sagara West where you can post your fan fiction book! We all love her works so much and there are so few fan fics out there that we’re trying to hunt them all down and share them in one place.

      The fan site is http://fansofmichellesagarawest.wordpress.com,

      Hope to see your fan fic soon!

      Reply

  7. Linda
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 00:37:33

    I loved the 4th cast book and look forward to the fifth.

    I also wonder just what else there is to Lord Nightshade and wonder what his test was to become a lord? Was Kaylin part of it? He is very protective of her and tolerates her bad manners in a way that surprises everyone…

    Reply

  8. amy
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 17:31:47

    What exactly is Cast in Silence about? And can you please hurry with the House Name book? I loved Rath and Jewel

    Reply

  9. bonnie
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 18:54:34

    i have pr-ordered cast in silence and am eagerly awaiting it.

    Reply

  10. Barbara
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:43:09

    Just finished Cast in silence, it. was. awesome. I cant wait for cast in chaos. I work at a bookstore and check the stores computer everyday to see if any cover art has been updated. Im so glad you have at least three more books in the series. Keep up the fantastic work.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 472 other subscribers